Rei: The Whole of Creation

Ki: Life Energy.

Reiki Treatment
What Is Reiki?

Reiki is a beautiful and gentle form of hands on (or off) energy healing that is spiritually guided.  It uses nonintrusive techniques which involve gentle hand placement on the body and auric field. 

Universal Force Energy (spiritual energy) flows through the practitioners hands into the recipients body and subtle energy systems otherwise known as the chakras and auric field.  The energy flow helps to rebalance these delicate subtle energy systems of the body to help bring it back into a state of balance or homeostasis..  Bringing one's energy back into balance helps the body to facilitate healing physically, emotionally and spiritually. To learn more about Reiki, watch the video Reiki 101 on the blog page.  

How Does an Energy Session Work?

To begin, you lay fully clothed on a massage table. The only article of clothing you need to remove is your shoes. A typical reiki session involves looking at your chakras* to see how they are performing and which, if any, need to be rebalanced.  We will also talk briefly about what the chakra system is and how it effects you physically and emotionally.  We can also talk about any issues you would like to address during the session, it can be physical, emotional, spiritual or a combination of all three.  Before beginning, you quietly set an intention for the session. The session is opened with a brief prayer to bring in your guides and helpers on the other side. The actual hands on part lasts roughly 45 minutes but can be longer or shorter based on need.  The price remains the same regardless.  We finish by looking at your chakras again to ensure they are properly aligned and then talk about ways to keep them balanced.  The whole session takes about an hour. 

What Are Chakras? 

Simply stated, chakras are spinning wheels of energy that run from the crown of your head down your spine to your tailbone. Some say these "energy wheels" connect your "higher self" to your "human self" or ego. Everything that has ever happened from the moment you were conceived has been processed through one of these energy centers.  So, you can see they are really pretty important; the fact that most people don't even know they have them can present quite a problem. So, let's start at the very beginning....there are seven main energy centers or chakras in your body (and a bunch of minor ones we mostly won't address here). The following are the seven major chakras in the body:

First Chakra

 The Root Chakra or in Sanskrit, Muladhara, is located in your perineum or base of your spine.  It is the chakra that grounds your spirit into your body. Problems with your health, family, money, personal safety, home (all of your root issues) will be experienced through this chakra.  The color is red and the element is earth.  It governs the following organs: kidneys, adrenals, knees, hips, low back, sciatic nerve, bowels.  

Second Chakra

Known as the Sacral Chakra or Svadhistana, this chakra is located three inches below your navel.  This your center for your creativity and sexuality. If you are experiencing problems related to sex or sexuality, they will processed through this chakra.  Additionally, creative flow comes through this chakra. This is the chakra where you give birth to new ideas and begin the manifestation process.  The color is orange and the element is earth.  It governs the following organs: genitals, reproductive organs, bladder.

Third Chakra

Located in the solar plexus, it is aptly identified as the Solar Plexus Chakra or in Sanskrit, Manipura (place of jewels).  It is your personal power center, the place where your self confidence and ego reside.  So, if you are having confidence issues, guess which chakra it will show up in?  You guessed it...the Solar Plexus.  The color is yellow, the corresponding element is fire.  It governs the following organs: liver, gall bladder, stomach and pancreas. 

Fourth Chakra

The Heart Chakra or Anahata in Sanskrit.  This is the seat of unconditional love and acceptance.  If you are judging or experiencing judgment, poor boundaries, loss, or bitterness this energy will show up here. We were meant to love each other without limitations, our human experience challenges us every day in this chakra. The color is green and element is air.  It governs the following organs: physical heart, lungs and thymus.

Fifth Chakra

The Throat Chakra or Vishudda is your communication center located in the center of your throat.  Are you speaking your truth in a loving and non-confrontational way? Are you able to hear other people's truths with love and acceptance?  Again, the human experience challenges this chakra every day.  The color is light blue and the element is ether.  It governs the following organs: vocal chords, thyroid and voice. 

Sixth Chakra

Your Third Eye ,or in Sanskrit, Ajna is located between your two eye browns and just a smidge higher. This is your command center...your conscious choice maker.  Are you making decisions from a place of wisdom and clear seeing or from a place of fear? This is the chakra where you experience your inner knowing and clairvoyance or intuition. The color is indigo and the element is light.  It governs the following organs: pituitary glands

Seventh Chakra

The Crown Chakra, or Sahasrara in Sanskrit, is known as the thousand petal lotus. It is located at the top or crown of your head.  It connects you to your higher self, God, The Universe, All That Is...whatever name you feel comfortable calling it. This where you derive higher wisdom and knowledge. This is where you convene with the Divine.  If you are having trouble connecting spiritually then you will see blockages in this chakra. The color is White, Gold or Ultraviolet. There is no element because It is All That Is.  It governs the pineal gland.  

So, there you have it! A very cursory dive into the seven main chakras.  When I do a reiki session I also use the chakras in my hands to transmit reiki energy.  These are part of the minor chakra system. The bottoms of your feet also have minor chakras.  This is just the tip of the chakra iceberg! There is really so much more to learn on each chakra.* For the purposes of  reiki, this gives you a rough idea of the road map to doing an energy session.  

Other Important Stuff to Know...

Just like essential oils, reiki is not a substitute for traditional medical treatment or the advice of a licensed therapist.  However, it is a wonderful compliment to these traditional modalities.  Reiki pairs beautifully with essential oils. You may choose the oils you would like to diffuse during the session. 

Sessions begin at $90 and last about an hour including consultation and chakra evaluation.

To book an appointment call 856-506-3593.

Please Note: New clients will be sent an intake form and will be required to pay for their first session in full at the time of booking. 

*to learn more about chakras, visit my blog.